Listen Live
HomeNewsThree-way Powell River mayoral race, 18 for councillor

Three-way Powell River mayoral race, 18 for councillor

Voters will have three choices for mayor of Powell River in the upcoming municipal election.

Nominations closed on Friday with incumbent councillors Maggie Hathaway and CaroleAnn Leishman running for the top spot. Ron Woznow, who previously ran for mayor in 2018, is running again.

There are 18 people running for six council seats.

The four incumbent councillors are looking to get re-elected: George Doubt, Cindy Elliott, Jim Palm and Rob Southcott.

The other 14 choices for councillor are: Earl Almeida, Bronwyn Gisborne, Glenn Holstine, Luke Holuboch, Jason Hygaard, Trina Isakson, Cathy Korolek, Eli Leyland, Robin Murray, Todd Phillips, Michelle Riddle, Evan Stocker, Roger Whittaker and Jen Zacher.

- Advertisement -

Outside of the incumbents, Korolek is only one other councillor candidate who has previously held office. She is a councillor for the City of Grand Forks in West Kootenay.

Voting day is Oct. 15.

Just over 11,000 Powell Riverites are eligible to vote in this year’s election.

- Advertisment -
- Advertisment -
- Advertisement -

Continue Reading